Tethering

If you are like me, you would like to have Internet access (almost) everywhere you go, right? Of course!

Well, my Apple Macbook Pro does not support PC cards like my 3G Vodaphone one (worked pretty good on my ThinkPad). This means I can not get online anymore when I am not in the office… There MUST be a solution, also for places where there is no WiFi support…

And there is! It is called “tethering”. According to Wikipedia it is the use of a mobile device with Internet access such as 3G or 4G cellular service to serve as an Internet gateway or access point for other devices. In other words, it connects my laptop with my iPhone, so that I can browse the Internet from my laptop. Exactly what I was looking for…

There are different suppliers out there and I choose to look around and see what others are using. TetherMe seems to be highly recommended. So, I testdrove it and …approve it. It works flawlessly!

Where to find it? Cydia > Search > TetherMe

Of course, some want more. So, if you want a complete wireless hotspot for mulitple devices, MyWi seems the app of choice for many others. I have not tried it myself, but it looks promising, except for the price. Where? Cydia > Search >MyWi

Anyway, another reason to choose TetherMe is that some carrier networks don’t allow you to tether your 3G connection from your iPhone. TetherMe enables the native tether option!

Oh, by the way, TetherMe is not free, but for a mere 2 $ you are all set. I know it’s worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

