Life is too short

Life is too short,
eat the chocolate first!
– Bert Verdonck –

Yes, I know, a lot people hear me saying this regularly. Time to put it on my blog as well 🙂

So, why did I come up with this quote? I enjoy life! As you probably know, my motto is “Enjoy every day!”. You must know that for most Belgians eating and drinking are very (very!) important. Most of you know that Belgium is chocolate’s heaven…And there is a strong link between having fun and eating chocolate, right 🙂

Now, why would I share this with you? Well, every day can be our last one and I see too many people waiting too long before they have fun. They work too hard and keep postponing the fun part for another day or they will benefit from it, once they retire. They tend to forget that some never reach retirement. So, why are we so seriously all the time? Why don’t we play anymore and have fun like when we were kids… How enthusiastic were we with the smallest things in life? Did you forget that too? Well, I don’t and I insist on having more fun too!

On the 31st of December, I had a great conversation with a friend and fellow coach, who needed some clarity on his bigger purpose in life. I asked him : “Why are you here?” He told me all he wants to do, is play! Playing and having fun are his biggest drivers. He is so enthusiastic about playing that I am convinced he could inspire a lot of people to play more! So, one of his intentions for 2009 is…play more!

At the beginning of this new year, I think it is important to reflect on our lives again and look forward. Time to create a new set of wishes! And let’s be careful with what we wish for, because we might get it 🙂 So, what are your wishes?

Anyway, I’ll be an example and start by having fun today (and by eating a magical piece of Belgian chocolate 🙂 )!

Enjoy every day,

Bert Verdonck
Lifehacker & Life Coach

One Response to Life is too short

  1. […] Yes, it is possible! Although I admit I sometimes even like the excess and luxury, it is a conscientious choice to choose less. For me it’s about Living Simply and Less is More. I know we can change in different ways and that one of my goals is to Slow Down. It is also clear to me that choosing less is not about plunging into poverty. What I am really longing for is a better quality of life. Remember, eat the chocolate first […]

Leave a Reply

