Getting Things Started

A lot of lifehacks are inspired by David Allen’s bestseller Getting Things Done (GTD). You also know that I am into Roger Hamilton’s Wealth Dynamics (Creator!). Now, if I combine the best of both worlds, I come up with Getting Things Started (GTS). This suits me better! 🙂

With GTS I am in flow, because I create stuff. I love it and it comes naturally and easily. I think about problems and solve it, mostly with lifehacks, but in a way I am really great at GTS. I get the overall picture and get my solution across.

Looking at GTD however, makes me realize that it is quite a different ballgame. Being a creative person makes me loose focus sometimes, head in the clouds and it means working on different things at the same time. That works just fine for me, but it takes a lot of energy, because I keep on starting new things and well, I often don’t finish them…On top of that it takes even more energy, because when the fun (for me it’s creating the solution) is gone, all that remains is hard work to get things done. In my former professional life, I used to be a project manager (long time ago!) and I was excellent at solving every hurdle along the way and at motivating my team to deliver on time. If it was a boring project, with few challenges, it took me ages to deliver. Now I know why 🙂

So, what lesson did I learn from all this?
That to stay in flow, I must focus on my creator-profile (Getting Things Started!) and build a dreamteam that is excellent at finishing stuff, Getting Things Done!

By the way, what kind of person are you? An outstanding starter? Or a great finisher?

Enjoy every day,
Bert Verdonck
Create, Connect & Contribute

2 Responses to Getting Things Started

  1. Dan says:

    For implementing GTD you might try out this web-based application:

    http://www.gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.

    With the new added iCal feed, now you can subscribe to Gtdagenda with third party services like Google Calendar or Apple iCal, and stay up-to-date with your Gtdagenda tasks.

    Hope you like it.

  2. […] as a Creator,  I know that I always want to improve things. I am great at starting new things and new projects. And I admit, I am sometimes less of a finsiher. But, I am always […]

Leave a Reply

