I made it to Santiago!

Despite the harsh weather conditions (heavy rain, strong wind, …), I made it thursday 14th June to Santiago! YES !!!

On that last day of hiking (a smashing 44km!), I finished around 5 o’clock in the ‘Officina de Peregrinos’, where I got my certificate…

Of course, the first thing I did was call my wife, Tonia 😉

Several people I have met on the way where there to hug me, kiss and celebrate. It was an emotional rollercoaster, but I was so glad I made it.

Luckily, a great Italian friend, Gabriella, had made reservations for a hostal room, so I did not have to worry about this.

After a warm, well deserved shower, we went into the town to see who had arrived also.

800km, can you believe it? It seems impossible at first, but then after a couple of weeks you reach one third, then you are half way. Further down the road, the countdown has begun, only 200km left, only 100km left, ….

Anyway, I learned a couple of lessons (sometimes the hard way) on this trip, but I ‘ll be back to share them with you!

In the meantime, enjoy every day,

Bert

Leave a Reply

